Run Big Year: An Introduction

What is Run Big Year? It’s a big year with running. It’s running big over a year. It’s a running year with, er, added bigness! #RunBigYear

Why is it a big year? It’s a big year because it’s probably going to run for a bit more than a year. It’s a big year because it includes a milestone birthday for me (shhh – enough said). More importantly it’s a big year as I want to raise at least £1000 to be split between 5 wonderful charities.

Why is it running big? I’ll be running big by running further than ever before, hopefully culminating in my first full marathon. I’ll also be aiming to set new personal bests in the races that I run. I’ll be running races I’ve never run before and setting myself challenges as I go. If you don’t think that’s running big then you’re probably into ultra marathons or something equally ridiculous.

Why is it a running year? This is not just running one event, this is me running several events over a year (and a bit). It will start with the CAVC Cardiff Bay Run on 2 April 2017 and (hopefully) finish with the inaugural Cardiff and Vale Marathon in April 2018. In between these events I’ll be doing a number of other running events so that I’ll be running the whole (big) year long. Keep an eye on this blog to see where and when I’ll be running.

I have chosen 5 charities to raise funds for. There are reasons I have picked each particular cause and I will go into more detail about this in later posts. The charities are (in no particular order) Llamau, HMSA, Mind, Save the Children and Cancer Research. All funds raised will be split equally between these charities. If you would prefer to contribute to one in particular then please make a donation directly to the charity of your choice. To sponsor me a contribute to them all please click here.

Anyway, that’s enough for now. I’ll try and keep this blog updated regularly to let you know how I’m getting on. Many thanks for reading and for any support you can provide.

2 thoughts on “Run Big Year: An Introduction

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

